SAP Data Warehouse Cloud Community

This is your platform to ask questions, post answers and share your experience with other customers and experts from SAP.

Graphical or SQL view - what's your preference?

In the Data Builder, you can choose to model data by creating a graphical or a SQL view. Both have different ways of doing the same tasks: creating a data output. Have you tried both ways of data modeling? What is your preferred way to model your data in SAP Data Warehouse Cloud? Do you find one better than the other? Why?

Comments

• I prefer the graphical approach. Not only because it is easier for me to create a data model, but also for everybody following me to operate/extend/bugfix it.

SQL Script only if the necessary functionality is not supported in the graphical modeling.

December 2, 2019
  • Hi @Maddie Martin, I have tried both and fully agree with @Sven Knoepfler. I am not an SQL expert and for me it is easier and quicker the graphical drag-and-drop approach. As Sven says, I would only use the SQL approach for specific cases where the functionality is not supported in the graphical approach. In any case, I think it has been a great decision to include both approaches in this tool.

December 4, 2019
  • SQL Views: it would be great, if we could use HANA SQL script functionalities to add some logic to the views

SQLScript addresses the following problems:

• Decomposing an SQL query can only be performed by using views. However, when decomposing complex queries by using views, all intermediate results are visible and must be explicitly typed. Moreover, SQL views cannot be parameterized, which limits their reuse. In particular they can only be used like tables and embedded into other SQL statements.